At the convergence of the fields of social work, urban planning, and policymaking, the UCLA Luskin School of Public Affairs identifies and develops emerging areas of research and teaching, cultivating leaders and change agents who advance solutions to society’s most pressing problems.

Founded in 1994, UCLA Luskin incorporates the best practices in scholarship, research, and teaching in the fields of social work, urban and regional planning, and policymaking. The unique intersection of these disciplines within one school allows for academic cross-collaboration and a graduate education that values diverse perspectives at the macro- and micro- organizational levels. Graduates of the master’s and doctoral programs are well prepared to take leadership roles and effect change as practitioners, researchers, and policymakers in the public, private, and non-governmental sectors.

Faculty of the Luskin School of Public Affairs are actively engaged in research that address pressing national and regional issues including immigration, drug policy, prison reform, health care financing, transportation and the environment, national security, economic development, and an aging U.S. and world population. The School is named after Meyer and Renee Luskin—UCLA alumni, Angelenos, and philanthropists—who generously gave a $100 million gift to UCLA, half of which funded endowments in the School of Public Affairs. On March 18, 2011, the School was officially named the UCLA Meyer and Renee Luskin School of Public Affairs.

Quick Facts

Master’s degrees in Social Welfare, Urban and Regional Planning, and Public Policy.

Doctoral programs in Social Welfare and Urban Planning.

Undergraduate minors in Public Affairs and Urban and Regional Planning.

Student body: 567 students

  • 129 Public Policy students
  • 209 Social Welfare students (50 Ph.D.)
  • 143 Urban Planning students (36 Ph.D.)

Numbers accurate as of Fall 2015

Alumni: 6,830

  • 655 Master of Public Policy
  • 2,316 Master’s degrees from Urban Planning
  • 3,471 Master of Social Welfare
  • 233 Master of Public Administration
  • 155 Doctoral degrees

Dean Lois M. Takahashi

Professor of Urban Planning and Asian American studies; associate dean of research, UCLA Luskin; associate director of the University of California Asian American and Pacific Islander Policy Multicampus Research Program. 

takahashi

A member of the UCLA faculty since 2001, Lois M. Takahashi is professor of urban planning and of Asian American studies. She served as chair of the Department of Urban Planning (2011-13) and chair of the UCLA Asian American Studies Center’s Faculty Advisory Committee (2010-13).

Outside UCLA, Takahashi is the president of the Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning, a board member of the Western Center on Law & Poverty and a member of the editorial boards of three journals: Journal of Planning Education and Research, Journal of the American Planning Association, and AIDS Education and Prevention. A National Institutes of Health-funded scholar, her research focuses on public and social service delivery to vulnerable populations in the U.S. and Southeast Asian cities, HIV/AIDS, homelessness and environmental governance. She has published more than 60 articles and chapters, and she is the author of Homelessness, AIDS, and Stigmatization: The NIMBY Syndrome in the United States at the End of the Twentieth Century and a co-author of Rethinking Environmental Management in the Pacific Rim: Exploring Local Participation in Bangkok, Thailand.

Takahashi received a Ph.D. in urban planning from the University of Southern California, an M.S. in public management and policy/architecture from Carnegie-Mellon University and an A.B. in architecture from UC Berkeley.

Takahashi serves as UCLA Luskin dean during the search for a permanent successor to Franklin D. Gilliam, Jr.

Board of Advisors

Board members

Keenan Behrle, JD ’69
Executive Vice President, Westminster Capital, Inc.

Marcia Choo, BA ’69
Vice President, Community Development Manager, Wells Fargo

Michael J. Donnelly
President, End Market Group, AECOM

Michael S. Dukakis
Distinguished Professor of Political Science, Northeastern University; Visiting Professor of Public Policy UCLA School of Public Affairs

David I. Fisher
Chairman Emeritus, Capital Guardian Trust

Michael Fleming
Executive Director, David Bohnett Foundation

Charles “Chuck” F. Gatchell, MPP ’05
Vice President, Natural Motion Running Footwear Nike, Inc.

Dr. Karen Hill Scott, MA ’72, EDD ’74
Chair Emeritus, Crystal Stairs, Inc. and President, The Karen Hill Scott Company

Fran Inman
Senior Vice President, Corporate Development, Majestic Reality Co.

Gadi Kaufmann, BA ’79
Managing Director & Chief Executive Officer, Robert Charles Lesser & Co.

Joanne Kozberg
Partner, California Strategies, LLC; Former Regent, University of California

Randall W. Lewis
Executive Vice President and Director of Marketing, Lewis Operating Corp.

Meyer Luskin, BA ’49
Chairman, Chief Executive Officer and President, Scope Industries

Michael Mahdesian, MA UP ’83
Chairman, Servicon Systems

Daniel C. Maldonado, MS ’66
Senior Policy Advisor, Holland & Knight, LLP

Vicki Reynolds, BA ’58
Former Mayor, City of Beverly Hills

Dr. Susan F. Rice, MPA ‘76
Senior Consulting Associate, Braekely Briscoe Inc.

Kevin Sagara, BA ‘84
President, Renewables, Sempra U.S. Gas and Power

Jeffrey Seymour, BA ‘73, MPA ‘77
President, Seymour Consulting Group

Annette Familian Shapiro
President of the Board, Beit T’Shuvah

Steve Soboroff
Managing Partner, Soboroff Partners

Maureen Stockton, BA ‘86
Civic Leader

Lois M. Takahashi
Interim Dean, Professor of Urban Planning and Asian American Studies

Leonard Unger, BA ‘67
Principal, Levine & Unger Law Office

Jill Black Zalben
Black Equities Group Ltd.

Faculty Executive Committee

Chair: Wes Yin (Public Policy)

Vice Chair: David Cohen (Social Welfare)

Public Policy Representative: John Villasenor

Social Welfare Representative: Rosina Becerra

Urban Planning Representative: Michael Lens

Contact Us

OFFICE OF THE DEAN

(310) 206-3487 dean@luskin.ucla.edu

Lois M. Takahashi
Interim Dean

Erin Collins
Executive Assistant to the Dean
(310) 206-8858
erinc@luskin.ucla.edu

Anastasia Loukaitou-Sideris Associate Dean of Academic Affairs (310) 206-9679
sideris@ucla.edu

Dawn Zelmanowitz
Assistant Dean of Administration
(310) 825-9972
dawn@luskin.ucla.edu

Miranda O’Hayer
Dean’s Project Manager
(310) 206-8162
miranda@luskin.ucla.edu

ADMISSIONS

PUBLIC POLICY
Sean L. Campbell
(310) 825-0448
sean@luskin.ucla.edu
mppinfo@luskin.ucla.edu

SOCIAL WELFARE
Tiffany Bonner
Admissions Officer
(310) 825-7737
tbonner@luskin.ucla.edu
sw@luskin.ucla.edu

URBAN PLANNING
Jennifer Choy
Associate Director of Admissions & Recruitment
(310) 825-8957
jchoy@luskin.ucla.edu
upinfo@luskin.ucla.edu

UNDERGRADUATE PROGRAMS
Stan Paul
Undergraduate Advisor
(310) 206-8966
paul@luskin.ucla.edu

EXTERNAL RELATIONS

DEVELOPMENT & ALUMNI RELATIONS

Susan Addleman
Director of Development
(310) 206-7949
saddleman@luskin.ucla.edu

Nico Gervasoni
External Relations Coordinator
(310) 206-5479
ngervasoni@luskin.ucla.edu

Marisa Lemorande
Director of Alumni Relations
(310) 825-3589
mlemorande@luskin.ucla.edu

ACADEMIC DEPARTMENTS

PUBLIC POLICY
(310) 825-7667

Mark Peterson
Chair
markap@ucla.edu

Stacey Yukari Hirose
Department Manager (Faculty and Finance)
(310) 794-5050
stacey@luskin.ucla.edu

SOCIAL WELFARE
(310) 825-2892

Todd Franke
Chair
tfranke@ucla.edu

Shelly Brooks
Management Services Officer
(310) 825-1429
brooks@luskin.ucla.edu

URBAN PLANNING
(310) 903-3305

Evelyn Blumenberg
Chair
eblumenb@ucla.edu

Robin McCallum
Management Services Officer
(310) 206-7150
robin@luskin.ucla.edu

DIVERSITY, DISPARITIES AND DIFFERENCE (D3) INITIATIVE

Manisha Shah
Luskin Equity Advisor
Associate Professor
Department of Public Policy
(310) 825-2455
manishashah@ucla.edu

Gerry Laviña, LCSW Faculty Advisor
D3 Initiative
Associate Director of MSW Education
(310) 206-1405
glavina@ucla.edu

Miranda O’Hayer
Staff Liaison
(310) 206-8162
miranda@luskin.ucla.edu

Chete Enunwa MSW ‘17
D3 Project Manager
chetakwa@ucla.edu

Emma Huang MPP ’17
D3 Project Manager
ehuang712@ucla.edu

LEADERSHIP PROGRAMS and CAREER SERVICES

VC Powe
Director, Career Services &
Leadership Development
(310) 206-4776
powe@luskin.ucla.edu

COMMUNICATIONS

George Foulsham
Executive Director of Communications
(310) 206-0159
gfoulsham@luskin.ucla.edu

Roberto Gudino
Assistant Director of Communications
(310) 206-5252
rgudino@luskin.ucla.edu

EVENTS

Tammy Borrero
Events Manager
(310) 206-4612
tborrero@luskin.ucla.edu

Events Hotline
(310) 206-8034
events@luskin.ucla.edu

INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

Dennis Jong
Director of IT Systems
dennis@luskin.ucla.edu

Mitsuru Yamahata
Director of IT Client Services
myamahata@luskin.ucla.edu

Help Desk
(310) 206-6767
helpme@luskin.ucla.edu

BUSINESS OFFICE

Rowena Barlow
Chief Financial Officer
(310) 206-7571
barlow@luskin.ucla.edu

HUMAN RESOURCES

Pam Harris
Human Resources Director
(310) 825-6300
harris@luskin.ucla.edu

Visit Us

The Luskin School of Public Affairs building is located in the northeast section of the UCLA campus adjacent to the Murphy Sculpture Garden. Visitors to the School should plan on entering campus through the Hilgard entrance and park in Structure 3.

Find out more about visiting UCLA.

UCLA Luskin School of Public Affairs
337 Charles E. Young Dr. East
Los Angeles
CA 90095-1656