Home Departments

Student Honors 2012-13

  • Benton Heimsath, 1st Year MURP
  • Chelsea Richer, 1st Year MURP
  • Carole Turley, 1st Year PHD
The Dwight David Eisenhower Transportation Fellowship Program (DDETFP) awards fellowships to students pursuing degrees in transportation-related disciplines. This program advances the transportation workforce by attracting the brightest minds to the field through education, research, and workforce development.

Heather Jones has been selected by the Board of Regents of the Eno Center for Transportation to participate in the 21st annual Eno Leadership Development Conference in Washington, DC, June 2-6, 2013. The Leadership Development Conference will provide a first-hand look at how transportation policy is developed and implemented. She will meet with top government officials, leaders of associations, and members of Congress and their staff and will see how the nation's transportation policies are debated, shaped, formed, and ultimately adopted and applied.



  Lee Mackey recently received a year-long visiting researcher position at Brazil's prestigious Getulio Vargas Foundation (FGV) in their Center for International Relations. The Getulio Vargas Foundation was recently ranked as the number one think tank in Latin America and among the top 25 think tanks in the world in an annual global study conducted by the University of Pennsylvania. This position complements two other international research affiliations held by Mackey, at the University of Brasilia (Brazil) and the TIERRA Foundation (Bolivia), as part of international fieldwork for his dissertation on the rise of Brazil as an 'emerging donor' of development assistance in Latin America.


  Eric Morris (Ph.D. 2011) has been named Outstanding Student of the Year by the UC Transportation Center.  Eric received his Ph.D. from UCLA and is an Assistant Professor of Planning, Design, and the Built Environment at Clemson University. His current research focuses on transportation and subjective well-being; transportation, time use, and activity patterns; and transportation and access to employment, shopping, food, and medical care. He has a strong interest in transportation equity and disadvantaged populations. He also conducts research in the field of transportation history, and is currently co-authoring a book on the development and financing of the freeway system.

Eric will join other Student-of-the-Year recipients from University Transportation Centers across the U.S. at an award ceremony in January prior to the annual Transportation Research Board (TRB) meeting.

Will Domine (MURP 2012) has won the Parker Award for the best transportation policy and planning capstone project in the U.S. from the Council of University Transportation Centers. Mr. Dominie's study, entitled Is Just Growth Smarter Growth? The Effects of Gentrification on Transit Ridership and Driving in Los Angeles' Transit Station Area Neighborhoods, is a masterful and groundbreaking study of the relationships between rail transit investments, transit-oriented development (TOD), and transit use. Mr. Dominie finds that in Los Angeles, many of the new developments around rail transit stations attract higher income residents who use transit less than the generally lower income people displaced by the new development, calling into question policies that aim to increase transit patronage through TOD.

Mr. Dominie is UCLA's 11th transportation policy and planning student to win an award for the best capstone, thesis, or dissertation from the Council of University Transportation Centers since 1998, by far the most of any university in the country. He is currently the Built Environment Program Specialist with Contra Costa Health Services in the San Francisco Bay Area. Mr. Dominie will receive his award and $1,500 prize at the CUTC Banquet at the Annual Meeting of the Transportation Research Board in Washington, DC in January.

Peter Capone-Newton, MD, a doctoral candidate in Urban Planning,  won first place in the Department of Medicine Research Day poster competition for his work which is at the intersection of health and planning. 

Congratulations to doctoral candidate Lee Mackey who has been awarded a 2012-13 Fulbright-Hays Doctoral Dissertation Research Abroad Fellowship in support of his research in Brazil, Bolivia and El Salvador.  For more details click here.